General Assembly Schedule

UUA General Assembly, June 23-27, 2021

2021 Virtual General Assembly Schedule

Summary Schedule Grid Document (PDF). The 2021 GA Schedule is subject to change.

NEW! View the full GA schedule of events.

Wednesday, June 23, 2021

  • GA Orientation – 12:00 pm EDT/9:00 am PDT (30 to 45 minutes)
    Learn how GA works, how to connect with other​s, and how to make the most of your virtual experience.
  • Milwaukee Spotlight – 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT (1.5 hours)

    While we are unable to convene GA in Milwaukee, we will preserve our connection to Milwaukee and the MidAmerica Region through this spotlight program.

  • Group Networking & Caucus Time – 3:30 pm EDT/12:30 pm PDT (1.5 hours)
    Honoring the myriad of communities within Unitarian Universalism, Virtual GA 2021 will offer more time for networking, meetups and caucusing over the span of GA.
  • Opening Celebration – 6:00 p.m. EDT/3:00 p.m. PDT (1.5 hours)
    GA officially begins with a joyful, worshipful opening celebration with inspirational music and speakers. The opening celebration sets the tone for the days ahead.
  • General Session – 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT (1.5 hours)
    Co-moderators Rev. Meg Riley and Charles Du Mond preside over the general sessions in which the business of the Association is conducted.

Thursday, June 24, 2021

  • Daily Grounding Worship – 11:00 am EDT/8:00 am PDT (30 to 45 minutes)
  • Group Networking & Caucus Time – 12:00 pm EDT/9:00 am PDT (1 hour)
  • General Session – 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT (3 hours)
  • Live Webinar Programming – 5:00 p.m. EDT/2:00 p.m. PDT (1.5 hours)
    In addition to many on-demand workshops that will be available to GA registrants, GA 2021 will include dozens of live webinar workshops to choose from.
  • Service of the Living Tradition – 7:00 p.m. EDT/4:00 p.m. PDT (1.25 hours)
    Led by the The Ministries and Faith Development Staff Group, this service honors fellowshipped and credentialed religious leaders; remembering those who have died, recognizing those who have completed active service, and welcoming those who have received fellowship or credentialed status in the past year. The service includes a collection to benefit the Living Tradition Fund. Live stream is available to the public.
  • Reflections and Networking – 8:30 p.m. EDT/5:30 p.m. PDT (1 hour)
    Join other UUs to unwind and reflect on the evening worship services and celebrations. This is also a time when UU-related organizations and identity groups can gather.

Friday, June 25, 2021

  • Daily Grounding Worship – 11:00 am EDT/8:00 am PDT (30 to 45 minutes)
  • Group Networking & Caucus Time – 12:00 pm EDT/9:00 am PDT (1 hour)
  • General Session – 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT (3 hours)
  • Live Webinar Programming – 5:00 p.m. EDT/2:00 p.m. PDT (1.5 hours)
  • Synergy Bridging Worship – 7:00 p.m. EDT/4:00 p.m. PDT (1.25 hours)
    This is a transformative multigenerational worship. Be inspired and illuminated at a celebration of treasured worship elements, rites of passage and brilliant contemporary music.
  • Entertainment – 8:30 p.m. EDT/5:30 p.m. PDT (1 hour)

Saturday, June 26, 2021

  • Daily Grounding Worship – 11:00 am EDT/8:00 am PDT (1 hour)
  • Group Networking & Caucus Time – 12:00 pm EDT/9:00 am PDT (1 hour)
  • General Session – 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT (3 hours)
  • Live Webinar Programming – 5:00 p.m. EDT/2:00 p.m. PDT (1.5 hours)
  • Ware Lecture – 7:00 p.m. EDT/4:00 p.m. PDT (1 hour)
    The UUA President, in consultation with the General Assembly Planning Committee, invites a distinguished guest each year to address the General Assembly as the Ware Lecture
  • Reflections and Networking – 8:30 p.m. EDT/5:30 p.m. PDT (1 hour)

Sunday, June 27, 2021

  • Sunday Worship – 12:00 pm EDT/9:00 am PDT (1.25 hours)
    Join us virtually for the largest annual gathering of UUs joining in worship. Live stream is available to the public. ​

  • Coffee Hour – 1:15 pm EDT/10:15 am PDT (1 hour)
    Grab a virtual red cup after the Sunday Service to meet/greet with other UUs.

  • General Session – 2:45 p.m. EDT/11:45 a.m. PDT (1.75 hours)

  • Closing Celebration – 5:00 p.m. EDT/2:00 p.m. PDT (1.25 hours)

How the Schedule is Determined

Each year a team that includes members of the General Assembly Planning Committee, Commission on Social Witness, Youth Caucus, Young Adult Caucus, Unitarian Universalist (UU) Musicians Network, General Assembly (GA) office staff and the Moderator plans the General Assembly schedule to recommend to the GA Planning Committee. They consult with others as needed to draft a General Assembly schedule that will serve the needs of delegates and other attendees. The draft schedule is reviewed and finalized by the Planning Committee