Service of the Living Tradition (SLT)

Newly called ministers cross the GA stage, shaking hands and embracing along the way.

2018 Service of the Living Tradition

The Ministries and Faith Development Staff Group invites you to join us at this service where we honor those who have died, recognize those who have completed professional service, and welcome those who have received fellowship, credentialed, or certified status in the past year.

The Service of the Living Tradition (SLT) is Thursday, June 22, 2023 at 7 pm ET / 6 pm CT / 5 pm MT / 4 pm PT. The video stream of the service will be available to the public on UUA.org. In-person attendance to this service will be complimentary and open to visitors who are vaccinated, masked, and sign an agreement to honor the guidelines in place for the event.

Chris Buice

Chris Buice, minister of the Tennessee Valley Unitarian Universalist Church in Knoxville, Tennessee, is the Preacher for the 2023 Service of the Living Tradition. He studied for the ministry at the Earlham School of Religion (Society of Friends) with supplemental classes from the Meadville Lombard Theological School reflecting his deep interest in the common ground shared by both Quakers and UUs on combining spirituality with social action. He is the author of A Bucketful of Dreams: Contemporary Parables for All Ages and Roller-skating as a Spiritual Discipline.