Governance at General Assembly

The Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) Board of Trustees leads the governance process each year at General Assembly (GA).

This year, GA will not be business as usual. It will look and feel different from previous years. Please take a moment to learn more about the changes being made for this year (PDF) and how they'll affect the governance work of Multiplatform GA 2022.

Business Mini-Assembly

This year, the business mini-assembly took place before GA began on Saturday, June 11, 2022 at 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT. Delegates accessed the Zoom link to the mini-assembly via the delegate platform.

Amendments to the following items were considered:

Delegates are encouraged to read the results of the mini-assembly to prepare for voting during GA.

Recording of the Business Mini-Asembly

Discussion Forum

The Board of Trustees invites you to engage with them in discussion about the two business resolutions, bylaw amendment, and Rules of Procedure linked above. Register for the forums and share your thoughts.

General Assembly 2022 Final Agenda

Your UUA Board published the final business agenda for GA 2022 (PDF) on May 25, 2022.

Delegate Participation Platform

After delegates have received their credentials, they can access the delegate platform, which is where delegate discussion and voting will take place throughout GA.

Social Justice and Actions of Immediate Witness

Learn more about how the Commission on Social Witness (CSW) will help lead delegates in organizing Actions of Immediate Witness (AIWs).

Candidates' Forum

The UUA Election Campaign Practices Committee (ECPC) sponsored a Candidates' Forum on Wednesday, June 8, 2022, at 8pm ET / 7pm CT / 6pm MT / 5pm PT, featuring the two candidates in the contested election for Board Position #7, the Rev. Suzanne Fast and Rebecca Mattis, and the two candidates for Board Position #11, the Rev. Beverly Seese and the Rev. Justine Sullivan.

Members of the ECPC served as moderators, and attendees were encouraged to submit questions for the candidates in advance of the forum. Those who were unable to attend the forum are encouraged to review the recording of it.

Pre-GA Webinars Led by the Board

The Board of Trustees hosted a series of webinars to help delegates and GA attendees understand how the business at GA will work. We invite you to review this year's webinars and slide decks.

Important Deadlines

  • May 1, 2022
    • Deadline to email Actions of Immediate Witness (AIW) topic and description to the Commission on Social Witness (CSW).
  • May 7, 2022
    • CSW will share any potential collaborators’ contacts with proposers.
  • May 15, 2022
    • Deadline to email a draft AIW to the CSW.
  • May 25, 2022
    • Final business agenda posted (30 days beforehand).
  • June 1, 2022
    • CSW will provide feedback on drafts AIWs. The team writing the AIW should incorporate feedback ASAP and resubmit updated version.
  • June 8, 2022
    • Proposed amendments to business items are due to the Board.
  • June 9, 2022
    • Moderator/Mod Squad reviews submitted amendments.
  • June 1-15, 2022
    • Between June 1 and 15, the team proposing an AIW should focus on 1) centering the voices and perspectives of people most impacted by injustice, 2) growing connections and bringing in more people to share plans for action (actual plans as well as ideas and opportunities), and 3) incorporating feedback from interested parties.
    • Between June 1 and 15, the CSW will disseminate updated draft AIWs to promote collaboration and awareness. Drafts will be shared via the UUA website, General Assembly email list, CSW email list, and Facebook.
  • June 15, 2022
    • Deadline that teams proposing AIWs should email the CSW a revised (nearly final) draft of AIWs.
  • June 15, 2022
    • Board posts final text of business items with incorporated amendments.
  • June 17, 2022
    • CSW will provide final feedback. Proposers should respond promptly with any revisions.
  • June 20, 2022
    • CSW posts final drafts of AIWs. No additional revisions after this date.