Business at General Assembly 2022

General Assembly (GA) 2022 will take place online and in Portland, OR, from June 22-26. While some events, including the General Sessions listed below, will be available online to the public, full participation and/or voting as a delegate will require registration.

The General Assembly is the annual business meeting of the denomination. An elected moderator presides at the General Assembly in accordance with rules of procedure. General Assemblies make overall policy for carrying out the purposes of the Association and direct and control its affairs. Voting at each regular and special General Assembly shall be by accredited delegates from certified member congregations, certified associate member organizations, and trustees.

New for GA 2022: voting occurs outside the General Sessions. Find results as they are posted on the UUA Voting Website.

The business to be transacted is set forth in the official business agenda.

As General Assembly progresses, this coverage will include annual reports, on-demand video and transcripts for General Sessions, and minutes (available after legal review, usually in the Fall).

Live-Streaming Video Schedule

The following events will be streamed on their pages as they occur (schedule is subject to change). On-demand video will be available after each event begins.

  • General Session I
    Wednesday, June 22, 2022, approximately 7:45 - 9:00 p.m. EDT / 6:45 p.m. CDT / 5:45 p.m. MDT / 4:45 p.m. PDT (the session will begin after the opening worship and banner parade)
    • Business Review and Voting Process Video
    • Presenting the Rule of Procedure
    • Introduction: Youth & Young Adult Leadership
    • Introduction: Systemic Justice Team
    • Introduction: Safety Team
    • Introduction: Chaplains
    • Introduction: Conflict & Covenant Team
    • Introduction: Accessibility & Inclusion Team
    • Unitarian Universalist Service Committee Report
    • Theological Reflection
  • General Session II
    Thursday, June 23, 2022, 12:30 – 3:30 p.m. EDT / 11:30 a.m. CDT / 10:30 a.m. MDT / 9:30 a.m. PDT
    • Update from the GA Care Teams (Systemic Justice, Safety, Conflict & Covenant, Accessibility & Inclusion, and Chaplain Teams)
    • Preliminary Credentials Report
    • Theological Framing
    • Article II Study Commission: General Introduction and Purpose
    • President’s Report (video and transcript)
    • Side With Love Collection
    • Rules Review and Voting Process Video
    • Discussion of Thursday’s Ballot of Amendments
    • Commission on Social Witness Report and Admitting AIWs to the Final Agenda
  • General Session III
    Friday, June 24, 2022, 12:30 – 3:30 p.m. EDT / 11:30 a.m. CDT / 10:30 a.m. MDT / 9:30 a.m. PDT
    • Update from the GA Care Teams (Systemic Justice, Safety, Conflict & Covenant, Accessibility & Inclusion, and Chaplain Teams)
    • Article II Study Commission: Values and Sources of Inspiration
    • Theological Framing
    • Co-Moderator and Board Report
    • Discussion: Business Resolution 1
      Renewing UUA Bylaws for Theologically Grounded and Mission-Focused Governance
    • Discussion: Business Resolution 2
      General Assembly Planning Committee
    • Discussion: Proposed Bylaw Amendment to G-9.13.10
      Election Campaign Practices Committee
  • General Session IV
    Saturday, June 25, 2022, 12:30 – 3:30 p.m. EDT / 11:30 a.m. CDT / 10:30 a.m. MDT / 9:30 a.m. PDT
    • Update from the GA Care Teams (Systemic Justice, Safety, Conflict & Covenant, Accessibility & Inclusion, and Chaplain Teams)
    • Article II Study Commission: Covenant
    • Theological Framing
    • Announcement of Election Results
    • Discussion of Actions of Immediate Witness
    • Responsive Resolutions
    • Theological Reflection
  • General Session V
    Sunday, June 26, 2022, 3:30 p.m. EDT / 2:30 p.m. CDT / 1:30 p.m. MDT / 12:30 p.m. PDT (until closing celebration begins)
    • Final Report from GA Care Teams (Systemic Justice, Safety, Conflict & Covenant, Accessibility & Inclusion, and Chaplain Teams)
    • Theological Reflection
    • Angus H. MacLean Award for Excellence in Religious Education 2020 and 2021
    • Award for Distinguished Service to the Cause of Unitarian Universalism
    • President’s Award for Volunteer Service
    • Beacon Press Report
    • Installation of Newly-Elected Leaders
    • Invitation to GA 2023
    • Recognition of All Who Made GA Possible
    • Final Credentials Report