Angus H. MacLean Award for Excellence in Religious Education

A photo of Lynn Sabourin, a white woman with silver, shoulder length hair, smiling and wearing a dark top and a purple stole

Lynn Sabourin Receives the 2021 MacLean Award

Lynn has devoted 40 years to guiding religious education at the North Shore Unitarian Church in West Vancouver, British Columbia. Her kindness, humor, generosity, and tenacity have inspired many children and youth in her local congregation. Her leadership has also contributed to the flowering of religious educators through service in the Liberal Religious Educators Association (LREDA), the Pacific Northwest District, and through the Canadian Unitarian Council. We celebrate the deep connections and meaning-making she's inspired in so many over her years of service!

About the Award

The Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) presents the Angus H. MacLean award each year to someone who has made outstanding contributions to religious education. The award was established in 1972 by the St. Lawrence University Theological School Alumni Association and the Religious Education Department of the UUA.

In creating the award, the Alumni Association said, "Angus H. MacLean, Dean and Teacher of Religious Education at St. Lawrence University Theological School, was one of the pioneers in Unitarian Universalist (UU) religious education. It is appropriate that we recognize the inspiration and warmth that he gave to us all and his great concern for the religious nurture of both children and adults."

Each spring, a committee chaired by the UUA's Lifespan Faith Engagement Director selects a recipient. Anyone may nominate a recipient. A nominee for the award should be a UU who has achieved several of the following:

  • Contributed to the quality of religious education at the local level.
  • Raised the quality of religious education at the Association level.
  • Been innovative in the use of religious education resources.
  • Brought dignity to the profession of religious education.
  • Influenced religious education beyond our Association.

A nomination must specify the nominee's qualities, achievements, and contributions relevant to the award criteria and provide nominee contact information and basic biographical data.

Nominations are welcome throughout the year at

Learn More