Service of the Living Tradition, General Assembly 2021

Service of the Living Tradition will be live-streamed here, June 24, 2021. 7 p.m. EDT / 6 p.m. CDT / 5 p.m. MDT / 4 p.m. PDT. No registration required.

The Ministries and Faith Development Staff Group invites you to join us at this service where we honor those who have died, recognize those who have completed active service, and welcome those who have received fellowship, credentialed, or certified status in the past year.

The sermon will be delivered by Rev. Dr. Natalie Fenimore. She serves as the Minister for Lifespan Religious Education at the Unitarian Universalist Congregation at Shelter Rock in Manhasset, NY. She is the former President of the Liberal Religious Educators Assn. and was a member of the UUA Commission on Institutional Change. Currently, the Rev. Dr. Fenimore is a member of the UUMA Board of Trustees and is Vice President of Starr King School for the Ministry' Board of Trustees. Rev. Dr. Fenimore is the author of Unitarian Universalist Religious Education Curriculum and Religious Education Renaissance Modules, meditations and readings. Her Doctor of Ministry area of study is Narrative Theology with an emphasis on Story and Faith Identity Development for African American Unitarian Universalists.

Stephen Michael Smith, SLT Music Director, has served as Music Director of the Unitarian Universalist Congregation in Manhasset, NY, since 1999, and prior to that held a similar position at The First Unitarian Church of Oakland, CA. He also is Music Director of The Symphonic Pops Orchestra of Long Island and the Danbury Community Orchestra in Connecticut. Previously, he served as Music Director of the Dalton Alumni Chorale in New York City and the Shrewsbury Chorale in New Jersey, and prepared both groups for their Carnegie Hall debuts. He has had the honor of conducting twice in the International Northern Baltic Festival in the historic Hermitage Theatre of the State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia. He and his husband, playwright William Ivor Fowkes, live in New York City and Connecticut.

Speakers

Collection

The service includes a collection to benefit the Living Tradition Fund. The fund provides scholarships, debt reduction grants, and financial assistance in times of need to seminarians, ministers, religious professionals, other congregational staff at the local level, as well as retired ministers and their loved ones.

Register for More from General Assembly

You may register for GA ($200) to gain access to the rest of General Assembly, but watching video and participating in chat here on this page will be free. Learn more about what is available to registrants and what is available for free. Go to the GA Participation Portal if you are already registered.