2019 General Assembly Choir with Director Marty Swisher

2019 General Assembly Choir with Director Marty Swisher

General Assembly Choir
General Assembly Choir
General Assembly, GA Programs & Schedule

For many, singing in the choir is a key part of coming together as UUs at General Assembly. This year, instead of joining our voices in person, let’s join our voices in a virtual choir! Each singer will record a video of themselves singing, and those individual videos will be edited into one glorious combined video to be premiered during GA’s Sunday Morning worship service.

Can’t imagine how it will work? Here’s an example from the NYC Virtual Choir and Orchestra, featuring Adam Podd, Director of Music at First Unitarian Congregational Society of Brooklyn.

GA Music Coordinator Benjie Messer, Music Director at the Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Phoenix, will direct the 2020 GA Choir. Two optional rehearsals will be held on Zoom:

  • Thursday, May 28 at 7 p.m. Eastern / 4 p.m. Pacific
  • Tuesday, June 2 at 2 p.m. Eastern / 11 a.m. Pacific

These rehearsals will allow singers to see each other, listen to their parts, sing along, and ask questions. Links to those rehearsals will be emailed soon to all interested singers, along with sheet music, backing tracks, and instructions for recording yourself. Final videos will be due on Friday, June 5.

Registration for the GA Choir is now closed.

If you have already registered for the 2020 choir, you need only contact Benjie Messer (benjiemesser [at] phoenixuu [dot] org) with your name and voice part to confirm your participation.

We look forward to hearing you sing!

For more information contact generalassembly@uua.org.

Like, Share, Print, or Bookmark