St. Lawrence Foundation for Theological Education

old picture of st lawrence university

Mission Statement: We financially support a diversity of individuals as they prepare for credentialed UU ministry and promote the radically inclusive love of Universalism. (Adopted October 21, 2021)

St. Lawrence University, in Canton, NY, now a distinguished, non-sectarian institution of higher education, was founded by Universalists in 1856. Its Theological School, after a long and storied history, was closed in the mid 1960s. By vote of the University’s Trustees, the school’s assets were placed in the care of the newly founded St. Lawrence Foundation for Theological Education. The Foundation’s business is carried out by a 7-member Board of Trustees. Four members are appointed by the New York State Convention of Universalists, one by the Unitarian Universalist Association, and two by the Board.

The primary purpose of the St. Lawrence Foundation is to provide funds for students pursuing a calling to the Unitarian Universalist ministry. Candidates should contact their respective seminaries for information on the types of scholarships available.

How the foundation became the successor to the tradition and assets of a theological school.

History page