LeaderLab

Welcoming Neurodivergent People: Skill Up

The UUA and UUMA is launching a series of interviews and live Q&A to speak on neurodivergence, neurotypicality, and ableism. We hope that it can be informational for people of all neurotypes!

Already know you want to attend our first event? Event Details and Registration Link

This series is a collaboration between the UUA and UUMA, and the registration is being held through UUMA, but you do not need to be a minister to attend! When the UUMA site asks you to login, you can click "continue as guest" near the bottom of the page.

Even if you cannot attend the live event, it is worth it to register! Registrants are able to submit questions, and you can view responses later on your own time, as all registrants will receive recordings of each session.

This series is an invitation into a deeper journey. One that will likely include dissonance and even disagreement. We expect this and welcome it. It will invite all of us to more deeply untangle our internalized ableism and to more clearly perceive the ableism in our communities. Read more about how we got to this series and where we hope it might take us.

Currently Scheduled Events

August 19th 1-3pm ET/10-12pm PT with Heather Petit (see below)

September 7th 3-5pm ET/12-2pm PT with Ramon Selove (details coming)

September 27 7-9pm ET/4-6pm PT with Meredith Plumber (details coming)

Our First Interview with Heather Petit

Heather Petit (she/they) is an Aspirant to UU ministry who graduated from Lancaster Theological Seminary in 2020, and interned at the UU Society of Mill Creek, Delaware. Heather is white, queer/genderqueer, multiply disabled, and multiply neurodivergent.

Heather’s entrepreneurial ministry is in creating and maintaining sustainable, relationally trustworthy workplaces. In addition to employing this ministry in leadership and strategy work at a major data sciences firm, they also serve as a member of the Hope for Us advisory panel.

Heather is married and has four children. They divide their time between Newark, Delaware, and Moylan, Pennsylvania.

The interview is available to stream online. We will have a live viewing followed by a Q&A at 1pm ET/10am PT on August 19th. Registered participants can submit their questions ahead of time and receive a recording of the Q&A whether or not they’re able to attend the live viewing and Q&A. Future recordings will be limited to those who register for them.

In this session we talk about everything from a definition of neurodivergence, models of disability, communication, and much more! We had such a great time interviewing Heather, and feel like we all learned a lot that we're excited to share with each of you.

This is the first in an ongoing series! Dates for live events TBD. Watch this space for updates.