Rev. Dr. Elizabeth M. Strong Receives 2010 MacLean Award

Past MacLean Award recipients, Helen Bishop '08, the Rev. Dr. Elizabeth Strong '10, and Gail L. Forsyth-Vail '07 gather at the 2010 LREDA annual conference in New Orleans, LA.

Helen Bishop, the Reverend Dr. Elizabeth Strong, and Gail L. Forsyth-Vail, respectively the 2008, 2010, and 2007 recipients of the Angus H. MacLean Award, gather at the Liberal Religious Educators Association (LREDA) annual conference in New Orleans, Lousiana.

The Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) has awarded the Reverend Dr. Elizabeth (Liz) Strong the 2010 Angus H. MacLean Award for Excellence in Religious Education.

Judith A. Frediani, Director of Faith Development Resources for the UUA, presented the award during Sunday morning worship at the annual conference of the Liberal Religious Educators Association (LREDA), October 23-26 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

“Reverend Strong exemplifies everything Angus MacLean taught and lived,” said Frediani. "She, too, is steeped in our Universalist roots and heritage of hope, faith, and love.

"Like MacLean, Liz is a scholar as well as a minister and teacher. She has served our faith at congregational, district and Associational levels with warmth, creativity, and dedication.”

The award was established in 1972 by the St. Lawrence University Theological School Alumni Association and the Religious Education Department of the UUA. It is presented annually to a person who has made outstanding contributions to Unitarian Universalist religious education. In creating the award, the Alumni Association said, "Angus H. MacLean, Dean and Teacher of Religious Education at St. Lawrence University Theological School, was one of the pioneers in Unitarian Universalist religious education. It is appropriate that we recognize the inspiration and warmth that Angus gave to us all and his great concern for the religious nurture of both children and adults.”

Recent recipients have been Rev. William G. Sinkford, former president of the UUA (2009); Helen Bishop (2008); Gail L. Forsyth-Vail (2007); and Jacqui A. James (2006). Find a list of all MacLean Award recipients on the UUA website.