GA Youth Programs

Virtual GA Update!

UPDATE May 2021: All information below has been updated to reflect 2021 Virtual GA programming and events. 


GA Youth programming will be different this year from what you may be used to. Partly because of the switch to a virtual General Assembly made in 2020 amidst the start of this pandemic. Partly because of a decision to change up how we staff and approach the General Assembly Youth and YA@GA teams. This decision came after a period of conversations about compensation and the value of youth and young adult’s labor inside the faith.

Youth Caucus

The Youth Caucus space serves two functions this year. One is to be the central hub for youth at General Assembly, where we'll be building community with our fellows, and providing links and invites to our other youth gathering spaces and events. Youth Caucus is also where we'll be providing support for delegates and other youth attending General Sessions.

Youth Caucus begins gathering 30 minutes prior to each General Session as a space to answer questions about the delegate process. The Youth Caucus space on a Slack channel, so that youth are able to tune in to general session without audio complications.

Caucusing will be held throughout each General Session block each day. There will be threads for discussing all the various goings on and for crafting youth statements. Invites to the Slack channel will be sent out to all youth registered for GA.

While you can expect much of our programming to be emergent, here are a few examples of the spaces you can expect at General Assembly this year.

Covenanting Workshop

Wednesday June 23rd 3:30PM to 5PM EST / 12:30PM to 2PM PST

Hosted by the General Assembly Youth Staff, the covenanting workshop is time set aside for the youth community at General Assembly to find their shared values, and set intentions for their new community for the coming week.

Game Night

Thursday June 24th 9pm EST / 6pm PST

 Hosted by the GA Youth Community Care team on Kumospace, we'll be in for a night of fun with various games being facilitated by our staff. Youth are also encouraged to bring their own games to the space to share with the community!

Community Drop-In Space

Saturday June 26th 12pm to 1pm EST / 10am to 11am PST

While there will be many opportunities and spaces for youth to connect with others during General Assembly, this is one example of a facilitated space held to allow youth the chance to share and connect with eachother beyond the limitations of a Slack channel. Bring yourself, water, snacks, and get comfortable!

Synergy Bridging Worship

Friday, June 25th, 7pm EST / 4pm PST

This is a transformative multigenerational worship. Be inspired and illuminated at a celebration of treasured worship elements, rites of passage and brilliant contemporary music. Friday, June 25th, 7pm EST / 1pm HST. Read more about Synergy Bridging.