Main Content
Logo for Second Chances Florida
2018 Electoral Justice: Yes on Amendment 4 in Florida
2018 Electoral Justice: Yes on Amendment 4 in Florida

Amendment 4, if passed, will have a huge impact by enfranchising over 1.4 million people with past felony convictions.  This will dismantle Jim-Crow era laws which disproportionately target people of color. Amendment 4 aligns with our UU values of dignity and democratic process by allowing people to vote and fully integrate back into free society after they’ve served their sentence.  Learn more about the issue from our partner, Second Chances Florida.

Get Involved

Nationwide: Phone Banking

Unitarian Universalists from all over the country are joining together for phone banking!  You can do this from home or anywhere you have access to a phone and another device with internet connection.  You’ll get a 15 minute video training along with written instructions before your shift. Do this yourself or get a group together at your congregation!

The next nationwide UU phone bank will be with UUA President Rev. Susan Frederick-Gray on Oct. 21st. See details below for how you and your congregation can join!  (If this time doesn’t work for you, find another time here.)

Join UUA President Rev. Susan Frederick-Gray in Sarasota & Clearwater, Florida Oct. 20 & 21—On the Ground or Virtually

In Florida: Canvassing

Unitarian Universalists will be canvassing with UUA President Rev. Susan Frederick-Gray in Sarasota County on Saturday, October 20. UU Church of Sarasota will serve as the organizing hub. Doors will open at 8:30.

A program with Rev. Frederick-Gray will begin at 9:45 and will be livestreamed on Facebook Live. Watch from her Facebook page and then head out to a local canvass event. Consider gathering at your congregation and watching and canvassing together.

Sign up here to join her or for other Get Out the Vote opportunities around the state. Bring your justice team, your youth group, and all who want to contribute to this historic campaign.

Check the Second Chances Coalition Events page for canvasses near you.

In Florida & Nationwide: Worship Service & Phone Banking

On October 21, Rev. Susan Frederick-Gray will be preaching at Unitarian Universalists in Clearwater in solidarity with those most affected by Florida’s unjust voting law. Following the service there will be a lunch and phone bank from 12:30-3:30 pm ET.

There will be a Facebook Live event with Rev. Susan Frederick-Gray on her Facebook after the 10:30 am ET worship service and before the phone bank. Tune in around 11:45 am.

UUs are invited to watch and then join the phone bank from all around the country. Consider organizing a phone bank after your Sunday worship service and/or invite your members and friends to join the phone bank from home. 

Sign Up for a UU Phone Bank in your Time Zone:

  • 12:30pm-3:30pm EDT  (12:30pm - 3:30pm EDT)                                       
  • 12:30pm-3:30pm CDT  (1:30pm - 4:30pm EDT)                                       
  • 12:30pm-3:30pm MDT  (2:30pm - 5:30pm EDT)                                       
  • 12:30pm-3:30pm PDT  (3:30pm - 6:30pm EDT)                                       

Connect with others UUs doing this work

UU Justice Florida is our state action network partner.

Get Money for Your Congregation’s Efforts

Apply for a grant of up to $500 for UU congregations participating in voter projects.  Rolling deadline up until November 1. Thank you, UU Funding Program!

Like, Share, Print, or Explore

For more information contact socialjustice@uua.org.