Join President Sinkford in an Interactive Webcast
Join President Sinkford in an Interactive Webcast
On November 4, 2008, Reverend William G. Sinkford, President of the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA), will embark on a 19-day pilgrimage to visit six African countries: South Africa, Uganda, Kenya, Senegal, Ghana and Nigeria. During his travels, Reverend Sinkford will be available on three Sunday mornings (in US time-zones) for live interactive webcasts; Unitarian Universalist (UU) Sunday School classes are invited to “link-up” with Reverend Sinkford during his Pilgrimage to Africa on the following dates:
  • Sunday, November 9, at 11:00 a.m. Eastern, 10:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 a.m. Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific
  • Sunday, November 16, at noon Eastern, 11:00 a.m. Central, 10:00 a.m. Mountain, 9:00 a.m. Pacific
  • Sunday, November 23, at 2:00 p.m. Eastern, 1:00 p.m. Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific
During each webcast, Sunday School classes can access live audio and video of Reverend Sinkford talking about his journey, and communicate with him through a “chat” interface. Webcasts are scheduled to last for 1 hour. Sunday School classes of all ages are welcome to participate.

How to Link Up

The webcasts will utilize streaming video technology through Ustream.tv, a free "internet TV" broadcasting service. The broadcast can be accessed by clicking below and entering the password necessary to join (email the International Resources Office for this information). The direct link to the broadcast can be accessed by clicking here.

Interactive Web Chat

There is an embedded chat program available for interactivity between the viewers and President Sinkford. The chat window appears to the right of the video window. This feature can be accessed by registering a free account with Ustream.tv. It only takes a few moments to set up and will be very helpful in identifying participants in the discussion. Depending on your firewall settings, you may or may not be able to utilize the live chat function. If this is the case and settings on your network cannot allow for this chat feature, comments can be left on the show's page (below the video feed) to which President Sinkford can reply. Alternatively, questions can be submitted to international [at] uua [dot] org (international [at] uua.org) prior to the start of the webcasts.

Troubleshooting

As with all new technology, we suggest you test out Ustream.tv prior to the scheduled broadcasts. Familiarize yourself with its features and layout, practice viewing other available programming on the site, and practice online chatting during some of the broadcasts. If you would like to test out the technology directly with the International Resources Office, please let us know! We'd be happy to air a test-broadcast. Here is a link to the Ustream Help Center; the International Resources Office will be available to assist with any technological troubleshooting as well. In the event of technical difficulties, we ask for your flexibility and understanding. Please contact the international [at] uua [dot] org (International Resources Office) to sign-up and receive instructions for connecting to a web-cast.

Related:

About the Author

For more information contact international@uua.org.

Like, Share, Print, or Bookmark