Educational Opportunities for Musicians

UU Theology for Musicians

Event format: Online

Date & time:

  • Passed: Monday, July 31, 2023, 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm EDT

Type of event: Training

Lots of books on a bookshelf.

The UU Theology for Musicians course will be offered in an online format on Mondays, 7/31, 8/14, 8/28, 9/11, 10/2, and 10/16, 4-6pm ET / 3-5pm CT / 2-4pm MT / 1-3pm PT. The course will be led by Amanda Thomas, Certified Music Leader and the Rev. Kimberley Debus, Certified Music Leader. Registration is limited to 15 participants and the fee is $150, payable according to a sliding scale. Register here. The registration deadline is July 17, 2023.

Course Requirements

The UU Theology for Musicians course is an online learning experience comprised of six two-hour webinars with reading and other assignments for each session. Credit will be offered for full participation in the module. Full participation includes:

  • Online attendance at six two-hour sessions;
  • Reading and reflection to prepare for each session;
  • Responses to Reflection prompts provided by facilitators; and
  • Submission of final evaluation within a week of the ending of the module.

Course Goals

  • Have a broader understanding of the history and theologies of Unitarian Universalism and the historical contexts in which these theologies developed;
  • Have a broader understanding of the history of UU hymnody;
  • Gain tools for identifying and contextualizing the music we sing;
  • Learn how to use hymnody and liturgical music to help shape and reinforce UU identity and theology in our congregations;
  • Identify points of conflict and growth within our hymnody;
  • Affirm and support music professionals in their central role in positive, affirming, inclusive, and liberating liturgy in congregations and in the UUA.

Technical Considerations

The webinar platform is Zoom, which you can download from Zoom.

In order register and access module materials, participants must have or create a UU Institute profile. On UUinstitute.org, click on “Log In/Register” at the top right and follow instructions on the page to Register. If you have already participated in a UU Institute training, you will be able to use the account you have already created once your facilitators add the course to your profile. In your course registration at the link below, you must provide the email address affiliated with your UU Institute account for facilitators to add you to the group and begin the preparation required before the first session.

Register here!

Copy the iCalendar (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.