Family Ministry Training (online)

Stick figure people in diff color tops standing holding hands

The Family Ministry Training Renaissance Module will be offered in an online format on Wednesdays, October 26th to December 7th (skipping November 23rd) from 5:00pm-7:30pm EST / 2-4:30pm PT / 3-5:30pm MT/ 4-6:30pm CT.  This training will be led by Kathy Smith and Rev. Samaya Oakley. Registration is limited to 15 participants and the standard fee is $225. If the standard rate price is prohibitive, please take advantage of our community rates. If you are in a position to support others in this training, please add what you are able. Find more information on that below. The registration deadline is Tuesday October 11th, 2022.

Learn more about this event and register here today!

Registration Fee:

The training is open to individuals and staff teams are encouraged to register together. At the registration window select the ticket price that describes you best.

  • basic rate ~ $225
  • Community ~ $200 use code community
  • Discount rate ~ $175 use code recommunity
  • If you are in a position to help support the learning of your peers, please consider adding a suggested donation of $25 or $50 via the 'donations' section on the ticketing page.

Training Schedule: Wednesdays, October 26th to November 2, 9, 16, & 30th to December 7th from 5-7:30pm EST / 2-4:30pm PT / 3-5:30pm MT/ 4-6:30pm CT. **PLEASE NOTE: due to the holiday, we will not hold the training on Wednesday November 23rd**

Goals of the Training

  • The overall goals of this training are:
  • To explore different ways the idea of “family” is understood—for example, generationally, culturally;
  • To provide participants with an overview of family systems and developmental theories;
  • To explore ways that congregations are like a family, as well as ways they are different from families;
  • To help participants identify components and characteristics of successful family ministry and celebrate what they are already doing well in their congregations;
  • To reflect on the power and potential of shared ministry to enhance a congregation’s ministries to its families;
  • To explore different ways religious leaders and congregations can nurture and support ministry within families with the goal of helping families live their UU faith at home, in the congregation, and in the wider world; and
  • To support participants in beginning to imagine new ways of nurturing the forms of ministry only families, as families, can provide.

Copy the Google (ICS) or Outlook (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.