Main Content
Clara Barton District Assembly, April 30, 2016
Clara Barton District
Clara Barton District
UUA Districts & Regions

The Clara Barton District was formed in 2000 when the Central Mass District and Connecticut Valley District merged. District delegates at the time of the merger chose to name the district after Clarissa Harlowe (Clara) Barton, a Universalist, who was born within our district borders in North Oxford, Massachusetts, on Christmas Day in 1821. She is among the most honored women in U.S. history and is best known for founding the American Red Cross in 1881. Geographically, we encompass central and western Massachusetts, and all but the southwest corner of Connecticut. Numerically, there are 63 congregations and one newly emerging congregation.  At the district annual meeting on April 30, 2016, delegates voted to begin the process of dissolution over the next year as New England's four districts continue their regional collaboration.

Board of Directors

Terms begin with the start of the fiscal year, July 1, following  annual meeting elections.

  • President, Bill Young (2017), UU Meeting of South Berkshire, Great Barrington, MA, billyoung55 [at] att [dot] net
  • Vice President, Rev. Jeanne Lloyd (2016), Mattatuck Unitarian Universalist Society, Woodbury, CT, revlloyd [at] comcast [dot] net
  • Clerk, Cindy Malley (2017), Unitarian Universalist Church and of Winchendon, MA and Church of the Larger Fellowship, b [dot] charmer [at] verizon [dot] net
  • Michael Quarrey (2016), UU Society of Grafton & Upton , Grafton, MA, mquarrey [at] webindustries [dot] com
  • George Dowker (2017), All Souls Congregation, New London, CT, nianticjan [at] yahoo [dot] com
  • Susan Linsley  (2017), Unitarian Society of New Haven, Hamden, CT, linsleysusan [at] yahoo [dot] com
  • Ted Pappas (2018), Unitarian Universalist Society:East, Manchester, CT, falcon338 [at] aol [dot] com

Nominating Committee

  • Ken Wagner, Chair (2015), First Parish Church UU, Northborough, MA, ken [dot] r [dot] wagner [at] comcast [dot] net
  • Rev. Dr. Susan Suchocki Brown (2015), First Church UU of Leominster, MA, revsusanuu1 [at] verizon [dot] net
  • Martin Gent (2016), Unitarian Society of New Haven, CT, mpng [at] att [dot] net

Bylaws and Annual Meeting Documents

All documents are in PDF format unless otherwise stated.

2016 Annual Meeting

All documents are in PDF format unless otherwise stated.

Like, Share, Print, or Explore

For more information contact

Find everything tagged: