Main Content

Small Congregation Webinar Series

Small Congregation Webinar Series - Sharing Worship, Sharing Staff, Sharing Youth Programming

Are you in a small congregation of 120 or fewer members? Your Congregational Life Staff are offering a series of Small Congregation Webinars on ways congregations can share programming and services. Each session runs 1.5 hours and they are free! Please join us for one or all.

Sharing Worship in Smaller Congregations February 18, 2021, 7p ET / 6p CT / 5p MT / 4p PT

Come hear three real life examples of smaller congregations from around the country sharing worship with neighbors and collaborators. You’ll hear tips, pros and cons, and lessons learned.

Sharing Staff in Smaller Congregations March 18, 2021, 7p ET / 6p CT / 5p MT / 4p PT

Join Jan Gartner, the UUA’s Compensation and Staffing Practices Manager for the Office of Church Staff Finance, as she talks about the advantages of sharing staff and the new UUA platforms for finding and offering shared staff.

Sharing Youth Programming in Smaller Congregations April 22, 2021, 7p ET / 6p CT / 5p MT / 4p PT

More Resources

In addition to this new webinar series, the recordings of last year’s Small Numbers, Infinite Possibilities webinar series are now available at the UUA’s Leadership Resource Library.

Session 1 - Smalls Making a Big Difference

During this webinar we will be hearing from four different congregations. One has a bold new relationship with a neighboring big church. One was bold in their outreach to the homeless. One was bold in support of local immigrants. The fourth has been bold in creating model safety policy as well as outreach to new people. Join us to learn how your congregation can be bold.

Session 2 - Right-Sizing Your Congregation's Operations

Small congregations that try to be full-service churches burn out their leaders and volunteers. We will look at how you can structure your board, programs and ministries to keep your congregation nimble and effective.

Session 3 - Stewardship and Sustainability for the Long Haul

Stewardship and Sustainability for the Long Haul. Our congregations are sustained by the money and time of their members -- both limited resources that are often a source of anxiety for leaders. How might we re-think stewardship using sustainable practices from communities that are grounded in authenticity and mutuality? (Invite your membership committee, finance folks, board, stewardship and building & grounds leaders.)

Session 4 - Being Beloved Community

Many people love smaller congregations because they like knowing everyone and being known. How can our congregations build on that strength? Offering an authentic welcome to newcomers, encouraging healthy relationships, and setting boundaries when some of the people that we love cause harm.