Dismantling White Supremacy Culture Resource Updates
Dismantling White Supremacy Culture Resource Updates
Clergy line at Charlottesville demonstration 2017

This month we’d like to share some updates on two of the Dismantling White Supremacy Culture resources we’ve recently shared. The first is an online opportunity for an interchange of experiences with holding Conversations for Liberation—a framework and an invitation for Unitarian Universalist faith communities to engage in broad, shared discussions about the question “How will we move our faith forward toward greater justice?” The webinar is for congregations that have held a Conversation for Liberation, are planning to hold one, or are considering holding one. You can read our original article about Conversations for Liberation. The webinar will be held on Wednesday, March 11, at 8pm Eastern Time, 7pm Central, 6pm Mountain.

Also on March 11 at 8:00 pm Eastern Time, an online learning community will gather to create a forum for sharing among congregations that have passed the proposed 8th Principle and those that are working to do so. There are at least 20 congregations that have adopted the 8th Principle so far, with a few more voting at annual meetings in May or June. Other congregations are preparing to introduce the 8th Principle for further engagement in their congregations as well. Read our original article on the proposed 8th Principle of Unitarian Universalism.

For more information about registering for either of these virtual opportunities to connect around Conversations for Liberation or the proposed 8th Principle, please contact Phil Lund at plund [at] uua [dot] org.

Editor’s Note: After our original article about the proposed 8th Principle of Unitarian Universalism was published, a reader let us know that the link we shared wasn’t working. That link, https://www.8thprincipleuu.org/, is now functioning. Another reader wanted us to clarify that the proposed 8th Principle is exactly that, a proposal.

For more information contact midamerica@uua.org.

Like, Share, Print, or Bookmark