Pastoral Care to and with Youth for Youth Advisors

Date & time:

  • -

Type of event: Training

Sponsor: UUA Congregational Life Staff Group

Pastoral Care to and with Youth for Youth Advisors online Training series, March 2021

This is an online workshop series that meets on March 3, 17 and 31 from 6 to 9 pm ET (5-8p CT/4-7p MT/3-6p PT). Registration is for the entire series.

This will cover the same curriculum as the high school Peer Pastoral Care workshop series, but focused on the role of the volunteer adult advisor.

The three parts are:

Intro to Peer Pastoral Care and Listening Skills - explores what pastoral care is and gives participants a chance to practice core skills to pastoral care through video and text role play.

Supporting Youth In Crisis - explores how to support youth in crisis--when what is facing them feels overwhelming and they may need more than listening and compassionate support. We will also explore the ethics of pastoral care including the limits and need to expand confidentiality to help those experiencing harm or in danger of harm. This session discusses topics including child abuse, intimate partner violence, self-harm, and suicidal ideation.

Pastoral Care After Microaggressions - explores the intersection of oppression, identity, and pastoral care with a focus on providing pastoral care when oppression, such as microaggressions, has occurred. We will explore the dynamics of providing pastoral care to someone who has experienced the microaggression both as someone with a similar identity and someone without; providing pastoral care to someone who has hurt someone else through microaggressions; and providing pastoral care to a witness or community member.

Presenters are Congregational Life Staff Cameron Young and Rev. Evin Carvill-Ziemer and youth Max Solomon-Frye.

Registration fees are on a sliding scale of $30-40-50-60, based on your assessment of your ability to pay. Those who pay at the two highest levels are making a donation to help those in financial need for this event. Please remember that for a sliding scale to work, we need the same number of people with means to generously pay more to balance the needs of those who can afford less. (This is one way we try to build the Beloved Community!) If you are part of a congregational team of three or more, please pay the lowest fee.

Register Now

Copy the Google (ICS) or Outlook (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.