COMPASS, Navigating the Paths to Liberation Together

Event format: Online

Date & time:

  • -
  • -

Type of event: Webinar

Email: KCharles@uua.org

Sponsor: UUA Congregational Life Staff Group

Gray Box With Title and Blue Compass - Compass, Navigating the paths to Liberation Together.

With so much uncertainty in the wider world, sometimes it can be hard to find one’s bearings.

Join us to find our collective “compass” as we explore interdependence as a path to wholeness.

Saturday Highlights

Beginning at: 10am PT/11am MT/12pm CT/ 1pm ET
And ending at: 6pm PT/ 7pm MT/ 8pm CT/9pm ET

  • Centering Worship
  • Keynote in Four Voices on Interdependence
  • UU Voices Respond
  • Two women standing on road. One on the left with hat and large hoop earrings is holding a guitar.  The woman on the right is holding a banjo.  They are both looking up at the sky.  Text says Music and Wisdom from Rising Appalachia (trio) COMPASS
    Identity and Affinity Group Sessions
  • Workshop: Articulating a Theology of Interdependence
  • Rising Appalachia Concert

Sunday Highlights

Beginning at: 9am PT/10am MT/11am CT/ 12 pm ET
And ending at: 1:30pm PT/ 2:30pm MT/ 3:30pm CT/4:30pm ET

  • Sunday Worship Service
  • Article II Study Commission Interactive Presentation
  • Weekend Wrap Up

Why COMPASS?

In February of 2020, the Commission on Institutional Change published its report, "Widening the Circle of Concern," which called for a deepening in relationship with and a call to explore our shared theology as Unitarian Universalists. The next month, the Global Pandemic caused a nearly complete shutdown of all gathering spaces, including our congregations and communities. This extended time of social distancing has taught us just how much we need each other as individuals and collectives; our interdependence has never been clearer. If the question is, "What is an everyday theology of Unitarian Universalism?" one way we have answered back is, "Interdependence."

With so much uncertainty in the wider world, sometimes it can be hard to find one’s bearings. Which way is up? Which turn to take? Which risk is worth managing?

Article II Study Commission Square

You are invited to reach into your spiritual toolkits and grab your “compass,” your wayfinder, that inner voice that points you toward goodness, and join us in charting a path toward a deeper knowing of Unitarian Universalism. Join us for Compass: Navigating the Paths of Liberation Together. Our very own Article II Commission will ask for your input on our ever-evolving Purposes and Principles. This is Unitarian Universalism, our living tradition, at its theological best: striving to change and be better in a changing world, bending its arc toward a greater inclusivity and a more profound justice for all.

This event is for: lay leaders, religious professionals, adults, youth, members of congregations, and anyone else who is interested in diving into an exploration of interdependence in UU theology and practice.

Rising Appalachia (Trio) (YouTube) will be sharing their wisdom and performing a concert at Compass. Come hear their inspirational music and lyrics.

Compass will be hosted on the Whova Platform, available in desktop form or on your mobile device via the Apple and Android app stores. This is the same platform used for General Assembly and New Day Rising. If you already have the app downloaded, you can simply open your app and tap “My Events” to find Compass. The app will be launched for use starting December 1.

REGISTER NOW!

Registration fees are on a sliding scale, from $25 to $60, based on your assessment of your ability to pay. Those who pay at the highest level are making a donation to help those in financial need for this event. Please remember that for a sliding scale to work, we need the same number of people with means to generously pay more to balance the needs of those who can afford less.

Copy the Google (ICS) or Outlook (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.