Threads That Connect, Stories That Inspire: 2024 Regional Assembly

Date & time:

  • Passed: Friday, April 19, 2024, 6:00 pm - Saturday, April 20, 2024, 5:00 pm EDT

Email: CLEventTeam@uua.org

colorful hands reaching into a colorful overlapping circles. Text next to the right of the image reads 'Threads That Connect, Stories that inspire. Regional Assembly 2024'

A multi-day conference centered on connecting across individuals, congregations, and regions. Friday, April 19 - Saturday, April 20th. Registration for in person attendance closes on Friday, April 12, 2024. Come for a short visit or for the entire weekend. More info to come! 

REGISTER TODAY!

Brief Agenda: Friday, April 19 - Saturday, April 20.

  • Friday: doors open at 6:00 PM local time - 9:00 PM local time
  • Saturday: doors open at 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM local time

Locations: 

Highlights:

Brief online agenda: note the timezones

Friday April 19 – 

  • Zoom Lobby opens - 5:00 PM PST | 6:00 PM MST | 7:00 PM CST | 8:00 PM EST

  • Keynote* speakers live streamed from Denver, CO - 6:00 - 7:00 PM PST | 7:00 - 8:00 PM MST | 8:00 - 9:00 PM CST | 9:00 - 10:00 PM EST
  • Zoom Lobby closes - 7:30pm PST | 8:30pm MST| 9:30pm CST| 10:30p EST

Saturday April 20 – 

  • Zoom Lobby opens at - 7:00am PST /8:00am MST/9:00am CST/10:00am ET

    • Description: Come to this room if you want to join any of the breakout rooms listed below or need help orienting yourself online:

      • Craft Room, BIPOC Room, Trans and Non-binary room, Chaplain room, Right Relations Team, and networking rooms.

Session 1 workshops (Madison, WI) - 7:30am - 8:30am PST | 8:30am MST | 9:30am CST | 10:30am EST |

  • Workshop 1 A: Answering the 5 W’s about Article II | Facilitator(s): Kathy Burek & David Jackoway | Location: multi-platform 
    • Description: In this workshop, we will provide information about the proposed Article II revision. We will answer Who, What, When, Where, and Why about the proposal. The workshop will explain the details of the changes but will not engage in debate about the merits of those changes
  • Workshop 1D: The Multi-Layered Work of Developmental Ministry | Facilitator(s): Roger Bertschausen, Lisa Friedman, Keith Kron & Shelley Page | Location: Online only
    • Description: Congregation life is changing. This interactive workshop will explore what DevelopmentalMinistry can offer congregations of all sizes and different histories and cultures and share stories of discovery and growth from congregations who have chosen this path.

Session 1 workshops (Denver, CO) - 8:30am - 9:30 PST | 9:30 MST | 10:30am CST | 11:30am EST

  • Workshop 1A: Visioning Multigenerational Futures* | Facilitator(s): Kristin Famula | Marena McGregor | Rev. Samantha Wilson | Location: Sanctuary
    • Description: How do we learn to live and die on a transforming planet? What would the Unitarian Universalism of our dreams look like? I wonder what would happen if we sat together in the spaces between doom and solutions? These are just some of the questions we’ve been exploring in an emergent process in the PCD at a time when districts dissolve and Unitarian Universalism transforms. This emergent process has taken the shape of dynamic, multi-day retreats across stakeholders. Come get a taste of a visionary approach to dissolution.
  • Workshop 1B: UU Camps & Conference in the PWR* | Facilitator(s): TBD | Location: Colvin Commons
    • Description: TBD
    • Workshop 1C: Moving Toward Transformation: Leading Anti-racism/Anti-oppression/Multicultural efforts in our congregations* | Facilitator(s): Dr. Melissa James, Congregational life consultant | Location: Youth room 2
      • Description: In this workshop participants will hear from PWR congregations engaged in effective anti-racism/anti-oppression/multicultural (AR/AO/MC) ministry and share stories, best practices, and insights. They will also be introduced to the UUA Mosaic Hub, a new initiative to equip leaders and congregations for AR/AO/MC work in their congregations and communities.

Session 2 workshops (Madison, WI) - 9:00am - 10:00am PST | 10am MST | 11:00am CST | 12pm EST

  • Workshop 2A: Panel Discussion with the MidAmerica Board and the UUA* | Facilitator(s): Rev. David Pyle, Carey McDonald, Rev. Ashley Horan, and the Mid America Board | Location: Sanctuary (live-streamed)
    • Description: This panel discussion between senior UUA Leadership and members of the MidAmerica Board will be moderated by the MidAmerica Regional Lead, and will highlight elements on the renewed policy defining the relationship between the Region and the UUA.
  • Workshop 2B: Accompaniment as an Antidote to Fascism* | Facilitator(s): Heather Vickery | Location: Courtyard Classroom A&B
    • Description: As we see the rise in fascist laws targeting our trans and migrant beloveds, we often struggle to know how to resist. Join UUSC and UUCSJ to learn about how you can welcome both asylum-seekers and trans/gender-expansive folks as an antidote to fascism.

Session 2 workshops (Denver, CO) - 10:00am - 11:00am PST | 11:00am MST | 12pm CST | 1pm EST

  • Workshop 2A: In Times Like These: A Worship on Living Out Our Faith* | Facilitator(s): Rev. Summer Albayati and Rev. Sarah Gibb Millspaugh, Pacific Western Region UUA Staff | Location: Sanctuary (multi-platform) 
    • Description: In a world that seems so intent on dehumanization and “othering,” and a nation that has not only failed to stop, but has actively funded the devastation of a people, it takes spiritual strength to resist, to claim our full humanity and the full human rights of every person. What spiritual resources do we Unitarian Universalists have that can help us live into our interdependent reality, where every person is sacred, inherently worthy, and entitled to flourish? What songs, stories, scriptures, and experiences can nourish us as we strive to help ourselves not only survive, but thrive, in this world of violence and fear?
  • Workshop 2B: Newsletter Editor’s Network* | Facilitator(s): Scott Fitzgerald | Location: Colvin Commons
    • Description: In this workshop we are meeting to discuss building a network of local congregation newsletter editors to provide connections, communications, and mutual support, and serving as a means of developing, sharing, and distributing informational content among the local congregations and between the congregations and the PWR staff. This group could include regular online meetups, an active mailing list or list-serve, and an online forum, as well as mechanisms for regularly sharing information between local editors and regional staff.
  • Workshop 2C: Boulder Valley UU Fellowship Collects 140 Weapons. They Were Transformed Into Life-giving Garden Tools* | Facilitator(s): Bob Braudes, Nancy Clairmont, TK Smith, Constance Holden, Boulder Valley | Location: Youth room C.
    • Description: The goal of this workshop is to equip other UU congregations with info needed to host a gun surrender program

Session 3 workshops (Madison, WI) 11:30am - 12:30pm PST | 12:30 MST | 1:30 PM CST | 2:30pm EST

  • Workshop 3A: Congregations as Faithful Employers* | Facilitator(s): Jan Gartner & Sean Griffin, Office of Church Staff Finances | Location: Atrium Auditorium.
    • Description: Yes, the UUA “Comp Team” offers compensation guidance. But that’s not all! We support leaders with a wide variety of employment concerns – worker classification, onboarding, staffing levels, performance challenges, and much more. Let’s talk about how to ensure that your congregation is faithful to the law and to UU values.
  • Workshop 3C: Weaving the Threads: Side with Love Resources and Networking* | Facilitator(s): Nora Rasman and Rachel Myslivy, UUA Organizing Strategy Team | Location: Courtyard Classroom A&B
    • Description: This facilitated discussion with members of the UUA’s Organizing Strategy Team will provide participants with the opportunity to interact with recent “case studies” of Unitarian Universalists putting their faith into action, and then identify what core skills they would like to develop to promote their sense of connectivity and power as a faith movement.
  • Workshop 3D: Deeper Joy Open Studio | Facilitator(s): Shannon Harper and Jennica Davis-Hockett, Lifespan Faith Engagement | Location: Online only
    • Description: Come as you are, bring some joy with you or find it here. This is a chance to learn about the Community Building Map to Deeper Joy and explore an activity from an area on the map. Participants will leave with an understanding of the various stages of community building and a practical way to bring more joy to their community.

MidAmerica business meeting* - 1:00 PM - 2:15 PST | 2:00 PM MST | 3:00 PM | 4:00 PM ET

Description: The MidAmerica Regional Business Meeting is your chance to hear from your MidAmerica Regional Board of Trustees about the fiscal, fiduciary, and programming vitality of the MidAmerica Region, to elect new Regional Leaders, and to hear from some of the affiliated organizations of the Region. This year’s business meeting will include a special report from the MidWest Unitarian Universalist Conference, and a report on the Board of Trustee’s work to renew the policy framework for the relationship between the MidAmerica Region and the Unitarian Universalist Association. There will also be a report from the Regional Lead on the staffing design changes of the Regional Staff.

Closing Worship Madison, WI - 2:30 PM - 3:00 PM PST | 3:30 PM MST | 4:30 PM CST | 5:30 PM EST

PWR - What’s All this I Hear about a New Pacific Western Region? - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM PST | 2:00 PM MST | 3:00 PM CST, 4:00 PM EST

  • Description: TBD. Closing Worship in Denver is a part of this block.

Zoom lobby closes at 3pm PST/ 4pm MST/ 5pm CST/6pm EST

Hotel Information for in person attendance -

  • Madison, WI - Please secure your reservation in one of the conference hotels below. These reservations are from Thu, Apr 18 – Sun, Apr 21, 2024:
  • Denver, CO - Please secure your reservation in one of the conference hotels below. These reservations are from Wed, Apr 17 – Mon, Apr 22, 2024. You can edit this time frame in the link:

Registration fee: Registration fees are on a sliding scale, based on your assessment of your ability to pay. Those who pay at the highest level are making a donation to help those in financial need for this event. Please remember that for a sliding scale to work, we need the same number of people with means to generously pay more to balance the needs of those who can afford less.

  • In-person registration fee: $50-$100-$150-$200
  • Online registration fee: $25-$50-$75-$100

General Cancellation Policy:

  1. All cancellation requests for any paid congregational life event or training (i.e. OWL or Renaissance module) must be submitted in writing using this refund request form

Refunds: 

  1. Refund requests made before the event registration deadline will be eligible for a refund, minus a $5 administrative fee.
  2. Refund requests made after the registration deadline, but before the event date will be eligible for a 50% refund of the registration fee.
  3. For refund requests made within one week of the event due to illness or emergencies, full refunds will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.
  4. Refunds will not be provided after the event for no-shows. Note, if you registered for an event only to receive the event recording and resources you will still receive all these resources.
  5. There is no penalty for finding someone to replace you if you cannot attend. Please inform the program staff of the replacement attendee's details.

Cancellation Due to Extraordinary Circumstances:

In the case of event cancellation due to low enrollment or unprecedented conditions such as high COVID-19 infection rates in the hosting area, poor weather conditions, acts by government authorities, natural disasters, epidemic or pandemic emergencies, registration fees will be 100% refunded. We strongly recommend securing travel insurance for instances like these in your travel planning.

We ask for your understanding in respecting this policy, which supports our organizational efforts and expenses.

Copy the iCalendar (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.