Spring Seminar Programs & Schedule

2022 Seminar Schedule

Updated April 27, 2022

The 2022 Intergenerational Spring Seminar will take place online April 22 - May 1. The 2022 Seminar will include smaller chunks of online programming spread out over the week, with no more than 3 hours of programming on any given day. Additional programming may be available to view on-demand. Read more about this year's Seminar theme and what to expect in preparing for the 2022 Seminar!

Friday, April 22

  • 9-10am PT | 10-11am MT | 11am-Noon CT | Noon-1pm ET
    Earth Day Celebration Worship (open to the public)
  • 2-3pm PT | 3-4pm MT | 4-5pm CT | 5-6pm ET
    Gathering Space for Young Adults, hosted by Zoë Johnston of UUYACJ
    Gathering Space for Elders, hosted by Bruce Knotts of UU@UN
  • 3-4pm PT | 4-5pm MT | 5-6pm CT | 6-7pm ET
    Gathering Space for Youth, hosted by Seminar Youth Deans Noella and Teaghan!
  • 4-5:45pm PT | 5-6:45pm MT | 6-7:45pm CT | 7-8:45pm ET
    Seminar Welcome Ceremony & Intergenerational Small Groups Session 1
    Come together in community! Get oriented to the Intergenerational Spring Seminar space and community. Here's where you'll learn key information about how to participate in the days ahead. This will be followed immediately by the first of three gatherings in Intergenerational Small Groups that will continue throughout the Seminar.

Saturday, April 23

  • 11:30am-12:30pm PT | 12:30-1:30pm MT | 1:30-2:30pm CT | 2:30-3:30pm ET
    Meet & Greet for BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, & People of Color) Attendees
    Opportunity for BIPOC attendees to ground themselves and connect with other BIPOC attendees. Bring a warm beverage to enjoy in community!
  • 1-2pm PT | 2-3pm MT | 3-4pm CT | 4-5:30pm ET
    Workshop - "Climate Displacement is Everywhere" presented by Maida Owens
    Join folklorist Maida Owens for a workshop that addresses the cultural aspects of how climate change will impact folks faced with displacement. Many communities will have to deal with newcomers; other communities will gradually collapse. Let’s explore ways that all of us - from activists to folklorists - can be part of the process.
  • 3-4pm PT | 4-5pm MT | 5-6pm CT | 6-7pm ET
    Keynote Address presented by Pacific Islands Students Fighting Climate Change

Sunday, April 24

  • Activities in local gatherings.
    Connect with others who live in your community and meet in a designated local gathering space to reflect on how the learning you have done so far can be turned into local action! 

Tuesday, April 26

  • 3-4:30pm PT | 4-5:30pm MT | 5-6:30pm CT | 6-7:30pm ET
    Theme Session & Discussion (open to the public)


    "Climate-Forced Displacement: There’s No Place Like Home"

    The Seminar Theme Panel will discuss climate forced displacement with a focus on what the United Nations is doing to address the growing number of people displaced due to climate change. We will highlight displacement in British Columbia, Canada and how it has effected indigenous peoples and others. We’ll also highlight front line workers in small island states.

    Presenters:
    Amali Tower, Founder & Executive Director of Climate Refugees
    Salote Soqo: Advocacy and Global Displacement Director, UUSC
    Noella Prescod: Senior Youth Dean, 2022 UU@UN Spring Seminar Planning Committee
    Moderated by Bruce Knotts: Director, UU@UN

  • 5-6pm PT | 6-7pm MT | 7-8pm CT | 8-9pm ET
    Spiritual Lounge
    Connect informally with other attendees. Different breakout rooms will be offered for soothing activities such working on art projects, listening to music together, or reflecting on the Seminar so far.

Wednesday, April 27

  • 3-4pm PT | 4-5pm MT | 5-6pm CT | 6-7pm ET
    Worship
  • 5:30-6:30pm PT | 6:30-7:30pm MT | 7:30-8:30pm CT | 8:30-9:30pm ET
    BIPOC Community Space
    Seminar participants and members of the planning team who identify as Black, Indigenous, and/or People of Color are welcomed to a community space, hosted by the UUA’s Rev. Sara Green. As we reach the midpoint of this conference where we’ve learned about the impacts of our seminar themes on BIPOC communities, come gather to reflect and share how it’s been going for you.

Thursday, April 28

  • 4-5:30pm PT | 5-6:30pm MT | 6-7:30pm CT | 7-8:30pm ET
    Workshop "Gearing Up for Change" & Intergenerational Small Groups: Session 2
    This workshop will explore how climate-forced displacement can show up in every community and will guide participants through different routes of taking effective action in their local communities. Then, in Intergenerational Small Groups, you'll continue learning from each other's unique perspectives, experiences, and reflections.

Saturday, April 30

  • Activities in local gatherings
    Continue where you left off in your local gathering to create a local action that is inspiring and relevant to your community.
  • 2-3pm PT | 3-4pm MT | 4-5pm CT | 5-6pm ET
    Intergenerational Small Groups: Session 3
    (The final gathering in these small groups!) Get to know a small group of other participants and learn from each other’s unique perspectives, experiences, and reflections.

Sunday, May 1

  • Noon PT | 1pm MT | 2pm CT | 3pm ET
    Afternoon Tea Time Pre-Worship Socializing!
  • 1:15-3pm PT | 2:15-4pm MT | 3:15-5pm CT | 4:15-6pm ET
    Closing Worship and Celebration