The Shadow Pandemic: Confronting Domestic Violence in India, Philippines, Transylvania

Date & time:

  • -

Email: admin@icuuw.com

Sponsor: International Convocation of UU Women, UUA International Resources: UU Office at the United Nations

Time: 6:00 AM Pacific / 9:00 AM Eastern / 2:00 PM Central Europe 3:00 PM Romania / 6:30 PM India / 9:00 PM the Philippines

Intimate partner violence is a “shadow pandemic” (term coined by UN Women head Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka) of horrifying magnitude. Responding to this public health crisis requires new thinking and creative solutions. Experts discuss changes required to work toward a post-COVID-19 world free of domestic violence, including opportunities not fully considered prior to the pandemic. Panelists include Éva László, co-founder of Artemis Association of Women Against Violence; Gizella Nagy, creator of the first Leadership School for Transylvanian women; Karunakaroi Lamar, member of the Meghalaya State Commission for Women, India; and Cecilia Hofmann, co-founder of Gender Watch Against Violence and Exploitation, the Philippines.

In order to attend, please register for the CSW65 Forum.

Once you are registered for CSW65 and have joined the Forum platform, Pathable, you can see the entire CSW65 Forum schedule and sign up for this specific event. Please email us at admin@icuuw.com with questions or concerns.

Copy the Google (ICS) or Outlook (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.