Main Content
Compensation Consultants
Compensation Consultants
Benefits & Compensation for Congregations

UUA Compensation Consultants are trained volunteers who work under the direction of the Office of Church Staff Finances. Compensation Consultants help congregational leaders understand the UUA Compensation Guidelines and navigate the complexity of ministerial and staff compensation, benefits, and employment agreements.

Our Compensation Consultants are regionally-based and generally cover an assigned geographic area within their region. Sometimes they work across coverage areas, and even across regions, to help each other out and to fill gaps. Consultations often take place via teleconference.

Compensation Consultants by Region and Coverage Area

If you have trouble reaching your assigned Compensation Consultant, if your coverage area is currently unassigned, or if you are unsure of your region or coverage area, please contact Jan Gartner, comp [at] uua [dot] org, UUA Compensation and Staffing Practices Manager.

New England Region

Nancy Chaddock, nchaddock [at] uua [dot] org covers:

  • Maine - all congregations
  • New Hampshire congregations with zip codes beginning in 032

James Peterson, jpeterson [at] uua [dot] org covers:

  • Massachusetts congregations except those with zip codes beginning in 020, 023, 025, 026, and 027

Sally Russell, srussell [at] uua [dot] org, covers:

  • Vermont - all congregations
  • New Hampshire congregations except those with zip codes beginning in 032

Rosemarie Smurzynski, rsmurzynski [at] uua [dot] org

  • All New England Region congregations in Connecticut and Rhode Island
  • Massachusetts congregations with zip codes beginning in 020, 023, 025, 026, and 027

Central East Region

Central East Region Compensation Consultants have cluster-based coverage areas. Find your cluster here.

Mike Harris (mharris [at] uua [dot] org) covers these clusters: 

  • Capital Cluster (Greater DC)
  • Central Pennsylvania
  • Delmarva
  • Greater Baltimore
  • Northern Virginia

Tuli Patel (tpatel [at] uua [dot] org) covers these clusters: 

  • Greater Philly
  • Hudson-Mohawk
  • Long Island Area Council
  • MetroNorth (north of NYC)
  • New Jersey Cluster
  • New York City cluster
  • North Country (Northern NY)
  • Northeast Pennsylvania

Susie Wood (swood [at] uua [dot] org) covers these clusters:

  • Appalachian Cluster
  • Central New York State
  • Central Ohio/Columbus
  • Cleveland Cluster
  • Genesee Valley UU Societies Together (GUUSTO)
  • Mohawk Valley
  • Northwest Pennsylvania
  • Southern New York State
  • Toledo and Northwest Ohio
  • UUs of Greater Pittsburgh
  • WACKY (between Cleveland and Columbus, OH)
  • Western New York

MidAmerica Region

Jane Gross, janegross [at] earthlink [dot] net, covers Kentucky, Ohio, Cent & So Indiana

Douglas Kaufman-Dickson, oxgarden [at] gmail [dot] com, covers Illinois, Wisconsin, and St. Louis area of Missouri

Art Hillman, ahillman [at] uua [dot] org, covers Michigan, Northern Indiana

Cheri Cody, chericody [at] outlook [dot] com, covers Nebraska, Iowa, South Dakota

Jason Smith, jsmith [at] uua [dot] org, covers Minnesota and North Dakota

Southern Region

Bob Day, bday [at] uua [dot] org, covers Southern Region congregations in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Texas

Ruth Vann Lillian, rvannlillian [at] uua [dot] org, covers Southern Region congregations in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and Virgin Islands

Pacific Western Region

Brian Rogers, brogers [at] uua [dot] org, covers Pacific Northwest District plus congregations in Montana, Wyoming, Nebraska, and Idaho

Debbie Bieber, dbieber [at] uua [dot] org, covers Pacific Central District plus congregations in Colorado and Utah

Martha Ketelle, mketelle [at] uua [dot] org, covers Pacific Southwest District plus congregations in New Mexico and El Paso, Texas

Canada

Two Compensation Consultants cover Canada: Barry Coburn and Nicoline Guerrier. They share this email: compconsultca [at] uua [dot] org.

Volunteer

Contact Jan Gartner, comp [at] uua [dot] org, Compensation and Staffing Practices Manager, to express interest or request more information about the volunteer roles described below.

Compensation Consultants

You can make a real contribution by becoming a Compensation Consultant, working with congregations to better understand the complexities of compensation and benefits so that they can attract and retain quality staff. While prior compensation or HR experience is helpful, it's not necessary because the Office of Church Staff Finances will provide ongoing training. We expect our Compensation Consultants to be comfortable with teleconferencing options such as Zoom, since most of our consultations and trainings are held virtually.

Project Consultants

In addition to working with our Compensation Consultants, the Office of Church Staff Finances also enjoys partnering with volunteers on special projects related to payroll, staffing, and a wide variety of interesting technical and legal issues. If you have experience in an area such as employment law, tax law, human resources, mediation, or accounting, please consider sharing your time and skills.

About the Author

Like, Share, Print, or Explore

For more information contact comp@uua.org.