Youth Ministry, What Now?

Youth Ministry, What Now? webinar series. how to be a safe adult with youth, youth ministry reboot

In 2021, youth need deep, real ministry that centers pastoral care, spiritual growth, participation in justice making, and community building from a trauma informed perspective. They need both age specific, developmentally appropriate and all-ages ministry. This series will help your congregation build the youth ministry your youth need now. All events are open to youth and adults.

How to Be A Safe Adult With Youth

August 31, 2021, 7-9 pm ET/6-8 pm CT/5-7 pm MT/4-6 pm PT

Congregations of all sizes ask how to support youth in being involved in all areas of congregational life and leadership. Foundational to this is having adults in leadership understand how to be a safe adult with youth. What are appropriate personal topics to share with youth? What should you do if a youth shares something worrying about their own life? What basic safety policies should be followed? What awareness of microaggressions should adults have?

This workshop is open to leaders of all kinds. Because youth are involved in all areas of congregational life from leading worship to serving on committees, we invite Board members, worship associates, and people serving on committees in addition to those leading youth-specific programming.

Details and registration.

Youth Reboot: Tail-End Pandemic Version

2 part series, you must attend both sessions:

  • October 6, 7-9pm ET/6-8 pm CT/5-7 pm MT/4-6 pm PT
  • October 16 1 - 3 pm ET/12-2 pm CT/11a-1p MT/10a-12p PT

This is a team-learning centered program to start, restart, or reboot your congregation’s youth ministry. Each congregation’s youth ministry is unique and youth around the country have similar needs including: trauma informed formal and informal pastoral care, age specific and all ages community building, and opportunities for spiritual growth and justice making. This two part event will provide UUA staff expertise, opportunities to share ideas with other congregations, and time to work as a congregational team.

We encourage congregations to send teams, but also accept registrations for individuals. Individuals will get to work with other individuals during time set aside for teams. Teams should set up a separate zoom number available during the training for team breakout sessions.

Details and registration.

Additional webinars coming soon, stay tuned!