Teacher Development Renaissance Module

Date & time:

  • -

Type of event: Training

Many cats sitting around a central cat who appears to be teaching them through drawing circles on the ground and pointing with a stick.

The Teacher Development Renaissance module will be offered in an online format on Wednesdays, August 4, 11, 18, 25, and September 1, 4-6pm ET / 3-5pm CT / 2-4pm MT / 1-3pm PT. The module will be led by Tim Atkins, CRE and Kathy Smith. Registration is limited to 15 participants and the fee for this five-session module is $250. More payment details are available on the registration form. The registration deadline is July 21, 2021.

Module Requirements

The Teacher Development Renaissance module is an online learning experience comprised of five two-hour webinars with reading and other assignments for each session. Credit will be offered for full participation in the module. Full participation includes:

  • Online attendance at each of the five two-hour sessions;
  • Reading and reflection to prepare for each session;
  • Responses to Reflection Questions on the Discussion Forum after each session;
  • Submission offinal evaluation within a week of the ending of the module.

Goals of the Module

The overall goals of this module are:

  • To reflect on religious education philosophy and relate that philosophy to the faith development of teachers;
  • To participate in a community of religious educators through study, worship, creating, and networking;
  • To gain understanding of teachers’ contributions and needs;
  • To increase understanding of child development and its relationship to teaching and learning;
  • To understand issues related to safety and ethics;
  • To explore and develop strategies for recruitment, support, appreciation and recognition of volunteers; and
  • To work together to develop a sample teacher development program.

Required Reading

The Reader for this module is The Courage to Teach, by Parker Palmer, as well as the Reader Guide and handouts.

Technical Considerations

The webinar platform is Zoom, which you can download fromZoom.

In order register and access module materials, participants must have or create a UUA profile name. OnUUA.org, click on “create account” at the top right and follow instructions on the page. If you have already participated in an online module, use the profile name you have already created. You must provide your profile name to be added to the group and begin the preparation required before the first session.

Register here!

Copy the Google (ICS) or Outlook (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.