Leading UU Culture Change Renaissance module pilot

Event format: Online

Date & time:

  • Passed: Friday, January 26, 2024, 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm EST

Type of event: Training

The title and dates of the renaissance module against a yellow and blue backdrop and images of streamers and triangle flags, and cartoon people smiling with their arms up in celebration

The Leading UU Culture Change Renaissance module pilot will be offered in an online format on Fridays, January 26, February 9, February 23, March 8, March 22, and April 5, 10am-12pm PT / 11am – 1pm MT / 12pm – 2pm CT / 1-3pm ET. The module will be led by religious educator, Adena Dannouf, and the Rev. Samaya Oakley. Registration is limited to 15 participants and the reduced fee for this pilot is $175. The registration deadline is January 12, 2024.

Module Requirements

The Leading UU Culture Change Renaissance module is an online learning experience comprised of six two-hour webinars with reading and other assignments for each session. Credit will be offered for full participation in the module. Full participation includes:

  • Online attendance at six two-hour sessions;
  • Reading and reflection to prepare for each session; 
  • Responses to Reflection Questions on the Discussion Forum after each session; and
  • Submission of final evaluation within a week of the ending of the module.

Goals of the Module 

The overall goals of this module are for participants to:

  • Understand that culture change involves internal as well as external work over time;
  • Understand that incremental changes create the ripple effect to extensive changes;
  • Gain a deeper understanding of why they want culture change and where they are emotionally and congregationally in terms of culture change; and
  • Receive a basic understanding of oppression, privilege, and how these are at play in their congregations and communities.

Required Reading

The required reading for this module is on UU Institute. Information to access this course material will be shared with you two weeks prior to the course start.

Technical Considerations

The webinar platform is Zoom, which you can download from Zoom.

In order register and access module materials, participants must have or create a UU Institute profile. On UUinstitute.org, click on “Log In/Register” at the top right and follow instructions on the page to Register. If you have already participated in a UU Institute training, you will be able to use the account you have already created once your facilitators add the course to your profile. In your course registration at the link below, you must provide the email address affiliated with your UU Institute account for facilitators to add you to the group and begin the preparation required before the first session.

Register!

Copy the iCalendar (ICS) link address to subscribe to this event (or download the file to import it) in a program which supports the iCal format.