Recipients of the Melcher Book Award
Giving & Generosity, Awards, Scholarships, & Grants

2008: Gustav Niebuhr, Beyond Tolerance: Searching for Interfaith Understanding in America

2007: Kate Braestrup, Here If You Need Me

2006: Debby Applegate, The Most Famous Man in America

2005: Joan Didion, The Year of Magical Thinking

2004: Marilynne Robinson, Gilead

2003: Elaine Pagels, Beyond Belief

2002: Richard Rodriguez, Brown: The Last Discovery of America

2001: James Carroll, Constantine's Sword: The Church and the Jews

2000: No award

1999: David Halberstam, The Children

1998: Wei Jingsheng, The Courage to Stand Alone: Letters from Prison and Other Writings

1997: Andrew Young, Jr., An Easy Burden: The Civil Rights Movement and the Transformation of America

1996: Robert D. Richardson, Jr., Emerson, The Mind on Fire 

1995: Eva Fogelman, Conscience and Courage: Rescuers of Jews During the Holocaust

1994: Diana Eck, Encountering God: A Spiritual Journey from Bozeman to Banaras

1993: Roger Rosenblatt, Life Itself: Abortion in the American Mind 

1992: Sissela Bok, Alva Myrdal: A Daughter's Memoir

1991: Tim O'Brien, The Things They Carried

1990: No award

1989: Taylor Branch, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years

1988: Toni Morrison, Beloved

1987: Robert D. Richardson, Jr., Henry Thoreau: A Life of the Mind

1986: Edward Harrison, Masks of the Universe

1985: Sherry Turkle, The Second Self: Computers and the Human Spirit

1984: J. Ronald Engel, Sacred Sands

1983: Jonathan Schell, The Fate of the Earth

1982: Anthony P. Dunbar, Against the Grain

1981: John Boswell, Christianity, Social Tolerance, and Homosexuality

1980: Frank E. Manuel & Fritzie P. Manuel, Utopian Thought in the Western World

1979: Sissela Bok, Lying: Moral Choice in Public and Private Life

1978: Michael Walzer, Just and Unjust Wars

1977: James Luther Adams, On Being Human Religiously

1976: Joseph Campbell, The Mythic Image

1975: Eugene Genovese, Roll, Jordan, Roll

1974: Robert Jewett, The Captain America Complex

1973: Dorothy Day, On Pilgrimage

1972: William G. McLoughlin, New England Dissent, 1630-1833

1971: Daniel Berrigan, Trial Poems, No Bars to Manhood, and The Trial

1970: Erik Erikson, Gandhi's Truth

1969: Donald B. Cutler (editor), The Religious Situation

1968: Alan Westin, Privacy and Freedom

1967: Peter Gay, The Enlightenment

1966: No award

1965: Rolf Hochhuth, The Deputy

1964: Herbert J. Muller, Religion and Freedom in the Modern World

For more information contact

Like, Share, Print, or Bookmark

Section Menu