Search Our Site

Page Navigation

Section Banner

Section C-13.2. Establishment.

Rule G-13.2.1. Establishing Districts.

  1. There shall be districts named Ballou Channing, Clara Barton, Florida, Joseph Priestly, Massachusetts Bay, Metropolitan New York, MidAmerica, Mountain Desert, Mid-South, Northern New Englad, Ohio Meadville, Pacific Central, Pacific Northwest, St. Lawrence, Southeast, and Southwestern.
  2. Each district shall be composed of the congregations assigned to that district by the Board of Trustees.
  3. The boundaries of each district encompass the areas served by its member congregations.
  4. Upon application to the Board of Trustees and after notice and an opportunity to be heard is afforded the affected districts, a congregation may change its district membership with approval of the Board of Trustees.
  5. The District Map published in the Annual Directory contains boundaries that are an approximation only of the boundary lines determined pursuant to subparagraph (c) above and are intended primarily as a guide for the newly admitted congregation in determining its membership.
  6. Transition Provision. The amendments to Rule G-13.2.1 deleting the Central Midwest, Heartland, and Prairie Star Districts shall not become effective until those Districts dissolve. This transition provision shall automatically be deleted from the bylaws following the first regular General Assembly occurring after all of those districts have dissolved.

For more information contact administration @

This work is made possible by the generosity of individual donors and congregations. Please consider making a donation today.

Last updated on Thursday, July 31, 2014.

Sidebar Content, Page Navigation


Updated and Popular

Recently Updated

For Newcomers

Learn more about the Beliefs & Principles of Unitarian Universalism, or read our online magazine, UU World, for features on today's Unitarian Universalists. Visit an online UU church, or find a congregation near you.

Page Navigation