Search Our Site

Page Navigation

Section Banner


2008: Gustav Niebuhr, Beyond Tolerance: Searching for Interfaith Understanding in America

2007: Kate Braestrup, Here If You Need Me

2006: Debby Applegate, The Most Famous Man in America

2005: Joan Didion, The Year of Magical Thinking

2004: Marilynne Robinson, Gilead

2003: Elaine Pagels, Beyond Belief

2002: Richard Rodriguez, Brown: The Last Discovery of America

2001: James Carroll, Constantine's Sword: The Church and the Jews

2000: No award

1999: David Halberstam, The Children

1998: Wei Jingsheng, The Courage to Stand Alone: Letters from Prison and Other Writings

1997: Andrew Young, Jr., An Easy Burden: The Civil Rights Movement and the Transformation of America

1996: Robert D. Richardson, Jr., Emerson, The Mind on Fire 

1995: Eva Fogelman, Conscience and Courage: Rescuers of Jews During the Holocaust

1994: Diana Eck, Encountering God: A Spiritual Journey from Bozeman to Banaras

1993: Roger Rosenblatt, Life Itself: Abortion in the American Mind 

1992: Sissela Bok, Alva Myrdal: A Daughter's Memoir

1991: Tim O'Brien, The Things They Carried

1990: No award

1989: Taylor Branch, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years

1988: Toni Morrison, Beloved

1987: Robert D. Richardson, Jr., Henry Thoreau: A Life of the Mind

1986: Edward Harrison, Masks of the Universe

1985: Sherry Turkle, The Second Self: Computers and the Human Spirit

1984: J. Ronald Engel, Sacred Sands

1983: Jonathan Schell, The Fate of the Earth

1982: Anthony P. Dunbar, Against the Grain

1981: John Boswell, Christianity, Social Tolerance, and Homosexuality

1980: Frank E. Manuel & Fritzie P. Manuel, Utopian Thought in the Western World

1979: Sissela Bok, Lying: Moral Choice in Public and Private Life

1978: Michael Walzer, Just and Unjust Wars

1977: James Luther Adams, On Being Human Religiously

1976: Joseph Campbell, The Mythic Image

1975: Eugene Genovese, Roll, Jordan, Roll

1974: Robert Jewett, The Captain America Complex

1973: Dorothy Day, On Pilgrimage

1972: William G. McLoughlin, New England Dissent, 1630-1833

1971: Daniel Berrigan, Trial Poems, No Bars to Manhood, and The Trial

1970: Erik Erikson, Gandhi's Truth

1969: Donald B. Cutler (editor), The Religious Situation

1968: Alan Westin, Privacy and Freedom

1967: Peter Gay, The Enlightenment

1966: No award

1965: Rolf Hochhuth, The Deputy

1964: Herbert J. Muller, Religion and Freedom in the Modern World

For more information contact web @

This work is made possible by the generosity of individual donors and congregations. Please consider making a donation today.

Last updated on Tuesday, April 3, 2012.

Sidebar Content, Page Navigation



Magnify Image
Beyond Tolerance, by Gustav Niebuhr: Winner of the 2008 Melcher Book Award. The award will be presented to Niebuhr at the UUA General Assembly in June 2009.
Buy Now

Updated and Popular

Recently Updated

For Newcomers

Learn more about the Beliefs & Principles of Unitarian Universalism, or read our online magazine, UU World, for features on today's Unitarian Universalists. Visit an online UU church, or find a congregation near you.

Page Navigation