Main Content
Rev. Dr. Elizabeth M. Strong Receives 2010 MacLean Award
Rev. Dr. Elizabeth M. Strong Receives 2010 MacLean Award
Faith Development, Professional Development for Religious Educators

The Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) has awarded the Reverend Dr. Elizabeth (Liz) Strong the 2010 Angus H. MacLean Award for Excellence in Religious Education.

Judith A. Frediani, Director of Faith Development Resources for the UUA, presented the award during Sunday morning worship at the annual conference of the Liberal Religious Educators Association (LREDA), October 23-26 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

“Reverend Strong exemplifies everything Angus MacLean taught and lived,” said Frediani. "She, too, is steeped in our Universalist roots and heritage of hope, faith, and love.

"Like MacLean, Liz is a scholar as well as a minister and teacher. She has served our faith at congregational, district and Associational levels with warmth, creativity, and dedication.”

The award was established in 1972 by the St. Lawrence University Theological School Alumni Association and the Religious Education Department of the UUA. It is presented annually to a person who has made outstanding contributions to Unitarian Universalist religious education. In creating the award, the Alumni Association said, "Angus H. MacLean, Dean and Teacher of Religious Education at St. Lawrence University Theological School, was one of the pioneers in Unitarian Universalist religious education. It is appropriate that we recognize the inspiration and warmth that Angus gave to us all and his great concern for the religious nurture of both children and adults.”

Recent recipients have been Rev. William G. Sinkford, former president of the UUA (2009); Helen Bishop (2008); Gail L. Forsyth-Vail (2007); and Jacqui A. James (2006). Find a list of all MacLean Award recipients on the UUA website.

Like, Share, Print, or Explore

For more information contact